Beaver Dam Winter Light web

via Photo Challenge: Shadow

Shadows created when you have an abundance of light are the most striking but what do you focus in on; the light or the dark? It’s in your perspective, your point of view, your mood. Lately my mood, along with many people I know, has been dark and tired given the state of affairs in this already great country in which I live. I am trying to see the light but it has been difficult as 45 and the Republicans are doing their very best to overturn all that this great country was founded on and has stood for since it’s inception. No longer I fear are we the country that takes in as the plaque at the base of the Statue of Liberty reads: “Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, the wretched refuse of your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me, I lift my lamp beside the golden door!” Now more than ever 45 and his cronies are trying to shut the door on those values that have made us great just to increase their own enormous wealth. It has been a sad time here but I am hopeful that all of the little lamps which are being lifted around the country when joined together will bring down the puppet masters and the man they control. To vain and self-absorbed he basques in their praises, tweeting out at anyone who opposes him, alternative facts and lies, and tries to rally the hate mongers among us. Fools who have not learned or probably even studied history are doomed to repeat it. Or even more ominously originally stated by George Santayana; “Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it!” I remember the past, I will not be condemned by it, I may be just one little light coming out of the shadows but I will not be silenced. For I am a Nasty Woman who will not go away quietly; I will persist!

Leave a Reply

