Daily Prompt: Mistake

IMG_2038

Mistake: an action or judgment that is misguided or wrong so the dictionary states. But they also say that through trial and error is how we learn and discover. Didn’t Thomas Edison say “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” As I continue my Positivity journey I constantly struggle to focus on areas of growth rather than the mistakes/regrets I have. I am a high school, art teacher and I am always saying to my students, “There are no mistakes in art, only things to change and new perspectives to see.” In our darkest moments it is difficult to to see those new perspectives but we must be like the little engine that could and repeat to ourselves, I think I can, I think I can and then we will. As part of my Positivity journey this past summer I’ve been focusing on me through running. Most days I don’t really consider what I do running as I’m very slow but I’m out there trying and with every running stride I take I’m making progress. Map-my-Run keeps me on track and accountable but I still have to get out there. Recently I was feeling less motivated so I took a look back at past workouts and I realized I have made progress and that’s what matters most. Not getting stuck in our past practices, not letting our fears paralyze us into inaction, and not focusing on the negatives. We all need to feed our mind, body and souls for me I try to read a book, I’m out running and I paint or photograph. This is my formula which has worked for me to get me back to Positivity. While I’ve not yet reached my goal of running a 5K race under 40 minutes, I’m close and am already refocusing my goal to under 36 minutes by next spring. No mistakes, only things to change, keeps me going forward plus with beautiful scenes like above how can we not want to keep running.

Read more at: http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/t/thomasaed132683.html Daily Prompt: Mistake

Leave a Reply

